In 2012, Facebook launched a smart feature known as photo sync, sadly that feature is now finally about to end.
Photo Sync came out amid a period when a great many people were simply starting to take photographs from their phones, yet were all the while transferring them from their PC, photo sync was an awesome approach to both store photographs and prepare them to be shared on Facebook.
Facebook would consequently transfer any photograph taken by your phone to a private collection on Facebook. From that point, individuals could share the photographs they needed or erase the ones from the private collection that they would never need anybody to see on Facebook anytime.
On Sunday, Facebook began closing the element since the vast majority transfer photographs from their phones in any case. TechCrunch initially reported that the feature was coming to the end of its life in December when the site began telling clients that it would be killed.
“We are phasing out Facebook’s photo syncing feature,” a Facebook representative said. “Photo syncing is an opt-in experience that syncs photos taken on your mobile phone to a private section on Facebook, viewable only to you, where you can view or post the photos if you choose. The feature was launched in 2012 when people took photos on their phones, but still posted primarily from computers.”
As the synced albums will be vanishing from the organization altogether, Facebook is putting forth two approaches to recover the pictures.
“People that use photo syncing will have the option to move the photos they’ve previously synced to our new app Moments, where they will be able to view, download, or delete them,” the representative said. “If they don’t want to download Moments, they will also be able to download a zip file of their synced photos on their computer, or delete them through their Facebook profiles.”
Though the photo syncing option was a dependable resort to have for your camera roll, the Moments application, which Facebook introduced in June, doesn’t have the same capacities.
Moments rather sorts the photographs into groups to be shared privately. For Facebook users who are accustomed to the free back-up, they’ll have to clear out some space on their phones for all of their pictures, or get another app or service, other than Facebook or Moments, to automatically sync to.