A month ago it was announced that WhatsApp will soon share the mobile number and call information of their users with Facebook. That way it is easier for advertisers to advertise within the app. However, now you have one more day to prevent this.
For those who uses the messenger app daily, the deadline is today. Until then, you can ensure that a part of your data is not used by Facebook.
To prevent your data to be shared
- Go to the heading “Settings”
- Click on “Account” and
- You can turn off the ‘Share my info’ option.
WhatsApp users were given exactly 30 days’ time to do this.
However, it is not so that Facebook will now receive no WhatsApp data from you. The two companies will still share information with each other in order to “improve the infrastructure”.