Google just released Trusted Contacts. It’s essentially an app which tells your family and friends, or your “trusted contacts”, where you are and whether you are safe or not. It uses your geolocation to do said things.
Let your loved ones know you’re safe with our new personal safety app
Who do you trust?
At the start of this app, you need to assign those of your contacts who you trust with your safety, and who in turn trust you. They will then be able to see if you are online and if you have moved from one place to another.
How to feel safe
If you are ever in a situation that you feel unsafe in, you can let those you trust know where you are. Conversely, if your family members are worried about you, they can ask to know your current location.
This can result in two scenarios: the first, in which you are fine and you can deny their request; the second, in which you do not respond in a reasonable amount of time, whereupon your location is automatically shared with them.
Works without the internet
If you are not connected to the internet, and your family members request your location then the app will send them your last known location, and that’s a lot better than nothing.