Have you ever sent any message on WhatsApp accidentally that you wish the recipient never saw? Well, WhatsApp has got your back now. The Facebook-owned messaging app is rolling out a feature that will let you delete a message for all within a conversation.
Delete for everyone
Known as “delete for everyone,” this feature is basically an extension of a previous feature which you could use to delete a message, but only for yourself. It means even if you delete the message, the recipient still could see it. With this new update, your deleted message will no longer be available to anyone.
To use this feature, first of all, go to the app and open a thread with the message you want to delete. Then tap the message and hold on it in question. An extended option will pop up at the top of your screen, giving you the option to select more than one message to delete multiple messages at the same time. This purged text will be replaced with a “This message was deleted” message.
However, there’s a caveat. According to WhatsApp’s FAQ page, you need to be really quick to use this feature. You can delete a message for everyone as long as you can catch it within the first seven minutes. Besides, this feature will only work if both the sender and the recipient have the updated WhatsApp on their phone.
What I found most annoying is that this “delete for everyone” feature hasn’t been available to everyone yet, despite WhatsApp updated its FAQ page to notify its users about this new functionality. It seems you have to wait a little bit for this update. Till then, think twice before you send any embarrassing messages to anyone.