With the latest privacy scandal, you may finally want to reconsider your relationship status with Facebook. But how are you going to do it? Well, it’s not that difficult. By following some steps with patience, you can finally remove yourself from this service. However, before you delete Facebook, make sure you download all your personal information from the social network.
Remember, your Facebook archive comprises everything you have done so far on your Facebook account, the photos you’ve posted, your chat history, your likes, as well as your personal information. So, before you delete Facebook, you need to download that archive. To do so, first, go to “Settings” and then click “Download a copy of your Facebook data,” which you will find at the bottom of General Account Settings. Then click “Start My Archive” to download your archive.
After your download is finished, the account is ready for the termination. However, before you permanently delete your account, keep in mind that once you delete, you can’t recover it again.
It’s time to delete
Now, if you’ve made your mind about deleting Facebook, click this link to go to the account deletion page. Interestingly, you won’t find this account delete option in its settings. Just click “Delete My Account,” and Facebook will mark your account for termination and inaccessible to other users.
Note that, Facebook delays the deletion for few days after it’s requested. During that period, do not log back in, otherwise, the termination request will be canceled. It may take up to 90 days to completely delete your account. According to Facebook, there are certain things, such as the comment you’ve made on your friend’s post may still appear, or copies of some particular items will remain in the database. However, no one on Facebook will be able to access your account during that period.
Now, you’ve finally got yourself removed from Facebook, but what about other services still owned by the company, such as WhatsApp, and Instagram? As the privacy scandal has become a serious issue, it’s high time that you remove yourself from those services as well.